Aa
A
A
A
Close
Depression Community
10.5k Members

First time awknowledgment of depression - Please Help. Anyone.

I'm 23 years old. I'm originally from the UK, and moved to the US (Minnesota) in June 2009. I'm a graduate with a BA Honors in Journalism, and haven't been able to find any stable career path. THIS IS NOT THE WHOLE PROBLEM. I married my college sweetheart in 2009 when everything seemed bright and happy, full of expectation, excited fear and anxiety, and ultimately, a lease of life I never thought would diminish (I have been extremely focused on a successful career since I was 13).

I love my wife Jess more than I love my own life, and would give anything to make her happy. But since I have moved, I have had a long-lasting sense of despair and depression. I look for employment - not just in my "prospective field" like most failed graduates, but in other areas. I have worked 2 seasonal landscaping jobs - both of which have made me more down in the dumps because it made me feel worthless and pathetic. I managed to get a temporary copy-editing/administrative job which I loved so much, and would give anything to have again - but got laid off in Jan' 12 after 3 amazingly invigorating months. And then it was taken away from me like it was nothing.

I find myself crying when I wake on occasion. Lying in bed, worthless, not knowing what to do in they day but fruitlessly apply to jobs like I was picking candy in a store. Everything I do seems inconsistent, and ultimately useless.

I am happily married like I said, I have life experience, qualifications, and a lifetime of desires and ambitions. But I have more unfortunate issues.

I have had trouble dealing with my move to the states in addition to my career failures (they may not seem like failures as I'm only 23, but I must add I actually have a lot of experience in Journalism, and have more desire since my teens than most will have in their lifetime).