Aa
A
A
A
Close
Depression Community
10.6k Members

Scared to stop taking Effexor XR

I have been taking Effexor XR 300 mg. daily coupled with Wellbutrin 200 mg. daily since August 2006 when I became nonfunctional and deeply depressed.  Over the last five months I have been feeling extremely hostile, angry and this is the part that is really difficult for me to admit, but I almost feel homicidal.  I am so scared right now.  It is so difficult to admit the fact that I can become so enraged, so easily and to the point that I can actually picture myself harming another human being; my husband no less.

Brief background: My husband of 14 years has been putting up with my depressive nature for well over a year and everything negative that goes along with it.  I was an Administrator at a 52-bed community for the elderly; specializing in Alzheimer's and other dementias. In the four years I did this, I did what has always been who I am, I put my whole heart and self into caring for others.  The difference this time was that these beautiful men and women would never get better, and worse, they died.  I dealt with death everyday in one way shape or form.  To watch another human being waste away physically and decline mentally is a terrible thing.  I loved each and every person that entered through my doors, and that included counseling the families that were dealing with the loss of their loved one.  In time, I slowly lost myself in all these lives.  I didn't know how to distance myself enough to survive what I was dealing with day to day.