Aa
A
A
A
Close
Depression Community
10.5k Members

depression

Well, I am 23 and have been out of college for about a year now.  It has been the worse year of my life.  I started working and I hate my job but HAVE to keep it for medical benefits and bills/loans.  My best friend died.  My grandma just died and my girlfriend dumped me for another guy 6 months ago.  I was at her house and her new bf accidently showed up while i was there.  I got the point pretty quickly.  I was on top of the world in college.  LOTS of women. tons of friends.... and never experienced a lick of depression.  As soon as I graduated though everything just went to hell.  Lost my friends due to location, lost my gf.  That was mostly my fault I was a crappy bf.  However, I cant get a girl to look at me now for the life of me.  I do have hhigh standards and am just in a living hell.  I cried about 10 times this year and i havent cried since like i was 4.  Its brutal and every day I struggle with over thinkin about who my ex gf is gettin with, with how much my job *****, and how lonely and routine my life is.  I know most people have ten times worse lives and problem but i am stuck in a tornado of depression and can not get out of it.  I dont want sympathy or anthing i just want advice on how to snap out of this...... it ***** and I dont like it at all.  I have though about suicide but could never do that to my family.  that would be way too selfish and im not like that.  I think the fact that my ex gf has guys all over her and i cant pay for a girl right now is what is really ancoring my depression.  any advice would be great. thanks!  
1 Responses
82861 tn?1333457511
The first thing you need to realize is that depression isn't something you just "snap" out of.  You've done a great job identifying the stressors in your life, which is the first step in the process to feeling better.