Aa
A
A
A
Close
Dermatology Community
53.6k Members

fordyce's condition/hpv problem (lip line - white bumps/redness)

hi everybody, this is my first time posting here, although i have read through different forums for a couple of months now and have found this site extremely helpful.

ok so here is my problem: about 4 or 5 months ago i contracted hpv. i wasnt completely sure i actually contracted it until a couple months ago when i noticed a wart in my genital area and had it frozen off. this whole ordeal, although it stressed me out a lot, went relatively smoothly.

however, the thing is, that about a month after i believe i contracted hpv, i noticed two small white dots on the border of my top lip. i assumed they were just white heads because i have had semi-frequent pimples on the borders of my lips before. So i put some tazorac on them to cure the problem. however all that happened was a real pimple showed up right next to the dots, got big, popped, and went away leaving a slight scar. while the pimple got big, the two dots seemed to fade away, but after the pimple went away the dots came back. so now i have these two white dots on the edge of my lip on top of a scar that is a little darker than the color of my lips.

I was worried for a while that they could be the beginnings of warts on my lips, but judging from the what i have read and from the fact that i did not engage in oral sex with my partner, i doubt this is the case. My dermatologist took a very brief look at them and said they are either clogged pores or sebaceous glands. Then when he saw the sebaceous glands actually on my lips (which i'm absolutely sure is fordyce's condition) he said they're probably just more sebaceous glands and there is nothing i can do about them.