Aa
A
A
A
Close
Diabetes - Type 1 Community
2.82k Members

Afraid child will die at night of hypoglycemia

I'm new to this disease and forum and it really bothers me to not have a clear picture of what to expect in the middle of the night if my son gets very low.  How will I know?  Will he wake up?  Will I find him unconscious in the morning when I go in.  This is honestly a real fear for both my husband and I and we do not think it has been addressed well by our MD or in the books we have been given.  
8 Responses
Hello again, Wendy -
Your fear is shared by every parent of a diabetic child.  Truth is, normally when our blood sugars drop too low, our liver will dump glucose into our blood stream to raise it.  So, all diabetics have a built-in safety valve that protects us from all but the most rare of situations.  Each time our liver 'dumps' glucose, it takes a few good meals and some time for our livers to rebuild the storehouse for the next time.  It's always important to watch carefully after a 'serious low' to make sure to avoid another one.  Many parents have chosen to take turns waking up during the night to test their child -- a test that most munchkins soon sleep thru.

With practice seeing how your son behaves when low during the day, with your growing intuition about his behaviors related to diabetes, and with patterns you'll detect about foods and activity and how his blood sugar rises or falls, you'll likely catch a low before it will be dangerous.

If your son is not being followed by a pediatric endocrinologist, make sure you get a referral to one.  Also ask for a referral to a certified diabetes educator (CDE) -- who works with endo's and is a great help on the daily rigors, trials & tribulations, and tips 'n' tricks to manage this disease.