Aa
A
A
A
Close
Diabetes - Type 1 Community
2.81k Members

Spike in insulin needs in 13 year diabetic son

Background- Logan, Diagnosed at age 6, now 19. Well controlled for 8 years, not so well for the past 5 years.  Suddenly reports having readings that fluctuate greatly, and taking an average amount of insulin (split shot, 70/30) and having to supplement at night with 20 to 30 units of regular insulin (in 10 units at a time) and still having high readings.  I seem to remember some talk of this sort of thing happening to long term patients for some particular reason but do not remember what initiates it or what the implications of the situation are.  Does this scenario ring a bell with anyone?
5 Responses
Helllo Oldstuff,
First I want you to know that I am Not a medical professional, so my input/advice is solely based on my own knowledge from personal experience.

My son, almost 10yrs. old was diagnosed at the age of 3.  My sister also has type 1 - was diagnosed at the age of 24.  (8 yrs. ago)

My son is now on the pump.  (started at the end of Aug. 2004)  Before that he was on NPH and Humalog.  I am sorry to sound ignorant, but, although I have heard of 70/30, I am unfamiliar with how it works.  I am guessing that 70/30 insulin is in lieu of NPH, but the question is...does he need regular to cover food or does he only get the regular insulin at night as you mentioned?

What does his Endocrinologist say?  The only thing that comes to mind for me is that he has done a lot of growing from 14 -19 yrs. of age, going through puberty, etc.  If things have been up and down and the BG readings have fluctuated greatly (as you say) for the past 5 years, I am surprised his Doc has not made any significant changes to his insulin schedule and / or type of insulin.  DO not get me wrong, I am not crticizing his Endocrinologist.  (although it may sound like it) Possibly he made changes and they just have not helped??