Aa
A
A
A
Close
Diabetes - Type 1 Community
2.81k Members

diabetes

i under stand what diabetes is and wat happenes after your diagnosed with it but how do u get diabetes?
1 Responses
The causes of type 1 and type 2 diabetes are completely different. Since you did not tell me which type you have, I will give a brief explanation of what is thought to cause both:

Type 1 diabetes is the most rare type. I have read that only 10 percent of all diabetics have true type 1 diabetes, although some type 2 diabetics who take insulin are sometimes wrongly called type 1 just because they take insulin. Type 1 diabetes is sometimes referred to as 'autoimmune diabetes' because the cause is a damaged immune system. I am not a medical professional, but from what I have read, I can give a simplified explanation of how it happens. The person who becomes a type 1 diabetic is born with some genes that cause the body's immune system to be damaged. At some point in life, this person's immune system goes amok when triggered by a virus (several viruses have been listed as possible trigger viruses because their protein structures are very similar to the protein structure of the insulin-producing cells in the pancreas). While attacking and killing off the virus cells, the damaged immune system proceeds to mistake the body's own pancreas' insulin-producing cells as virus and it destroys them. The person's pancreas is eventually destroyed so it cannot produce insulin. Diabetes is the result. The process can take years after the immune system first launches its attack. These people sometimes find that other endocrine glands such as thyroid are also attacked, so doctors tend to check the function of some other endocrine glands when they do regular lab work to see how these people are doing in their glucose control. Type 1 diabetics normally take insulin by injection or pump in order to survive, instead of any oral medications. The cause in this type if diabetes has nothing whatsoever to do with w