A
A
A
Close
Diabetes - Type 1 Community
2.81k Members

diabetic type 1 problems

Hi
My Girlfriend is 27 and has had diabetes type 1 from the age of 5.
We've been together for 4 years and i feel she really needs some sort of help to make her understand the way she deals with her illness is wrong.
I'm no expert but she will go weeks without even doing a single blood check and if anyone even asks her she reacts angrily.
she has all the symptons that other people have wrote regarding constatnt headaches , tiredness , and her moodswings are just terrible. I feel theirs nothing i can do to encourage her now as the relationship has taken a battering. she injects 4-5 times aday and without checking her bloods , is this ok ?? she will do a blood test if i constanly go on about it but it will only last for a day then its fogotten again.
last year she has lost the eye sight in her left her due to pressure . i cant understand why this isnt enough of a wake up call to start contolling it. i have asked her to see a consultant to freshen up on things but its just ignored. she also has to take thyroid tablets .
anyone got some great advice for me as its like living on a timebomb

regards
Andy
1 Responses