Aa
A
A
A
Close
Digestive Disorders / Gastroenterology Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

Chronic Adbdominal Pain and Nausea

Hi, there.  I'm a 20-year-old male college student.  For the past ten months, I have been suffering from chronic abdominal pain and nausea.    The pain is a sort of dull ache in my stomach, not sharp or crampy.  I get intensely nauseated but do not vomit.  The intense episodes come in spells, but I operate with a low level of nausea  and general "squishiness," for lack of a better term, almost all the time.  Sometimes I get intestinal cramps, but this is not nearly as common as the other two symptoms.  Also, another odd little symptom that is worth mentioning is that I often suffer from canker sores in my mouth.

I have been tested for just about everything: ulcers, heliobacter, gallbladder, tumor and cancer, celiac disease, gastroparesis, etc.  So far, the doctor has found nothing.  These symptoms are making it hard to meet the demands placed on me by school and work.  I often call in sick at my job, and I've missed a lot of classes.  I don't mean to sound pitiful, as I know there are people who are worse off than I am, but being nauseated all the time is sapping my will to live.
26 Responses
233190 tn?1278553401
MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL
I agree with the workup thus far.  Although likely already done, I would at least consider an upper endoscopy and abdominal ultrasound to rule out liver/gallbladder disease as well as upper digestive tract disease.

More specialized testing can be done with a gastric emptying scan or 24-hr pH study with esophageal motility testing.

If the tests continue to be negative, you can look outside the GI system.  Various neurological diseases can lead to chronic nausea.  A brain MRI would be a reasonable start to explore this possibility.

Followup with your personal physician is essential.