Aa
A
A
A
Close
Digestive Disorders / Gastroenterology Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

Hiatal hernia,Schatzki's Ring, Pregnancy, and new symptom

I am concerned regarding a new symptom I am having. I was diagnosed with a small hiatal hernia and a schatzki's ring in December via fluroscopy. I recently discoved also, I am pregnant of 5 weeks. My symptoms when diagnosed were intermittent dysphagia on lower right side of esophagus. I was put on Prilosec over the counter then switched to Zantac 150 mg bid. I am a vet tech :) My concern is that I have started to have this feeling in upper throat region (in region where collar bone comes together) of like a frog in throat that is very annoying. It feels like a pressure there like if you put a finger there and put pressure on the throat. I was told by the nurse this is from the hiatal hernia and it might get worse with pregnancy. Is this correct? I thought it was due to my allergies. I have felt this with post nasal drainage which usually will go away in a couple of days or resolves with swallowing or eating. This comes back after eating. If I don't have much food in my stomach, the feeling is not as intense. When eating, it is fine. I was told by internist to wait after the pregnancy for possible endoscopy if I wanted to for checking it out further. Is this symptom serious? Do I need to worry about regurgitation? vomiting? Is there any serious concerns being pregnant with all this?
I am having a hard time with this as it seems I feel like what else now? Especially that I am pregnant. I am taking all precautions for GERD, etc. I feel frustrated enough almost to go on a liquid diet in desperation to get rid of this feeling.
Sorry so long. Your observations about this GREATLY appreciated.
Respectfully,

Jill Dai
5 Responses
233190 tn?1278549801
MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL