Aa
A
A
A
Close
Digestive Disorders / Gastroenterology Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

eating disorder

: Dear Dr. i was wndering if you could tell me if a eating disorder
  : could possibly come from depression and could it be possible
  : that stomach problems could arise from this I want to eat but it
  : bothers my stomach feeling full my dr thinks i am depressed
  : but i am having alot of trouble with refux and I feel i am
  : malnurshed from not eating
  Hi Sarah:
  Please e-mail me at ***@****. I am not a doctor, but a person who went through eating disorders for years, and now am suffering the consequences of it. I think I can help answer some of your questions. I too suffer fravom reflux and all kinds of gastro problems, and have been through the mill over and over, so I know what it is like. If you want, e-mail me anytime and I will try and help you as best as I can.
  Carol
Dear Sarah,
Eating disorders such as anorexia nervosa and bulimia are classified as separate disorders in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV). The cause of these disorders are not known, however, anorexia nervosa and bulimia are associated with certain clinical and characteristic features. Physical and psychological criteria are needed to establish these diagnoses.
Nevertheless, there is a frequent association of depression with eating disorders. Up to 50% of anorectic patients and up to 20% of bulimic patients have associated depressive symptoms. Severe malnutrition and starvation may also play a role in the development of depression in patients with eating disorders.