Aa
A
A
A
Close
Disaster Preparedness Community
74 Members

What to put in my disaster preparation kit

My friend is part of this group that stresses disaster preparedness.  After he talked to me about it, I realized I’m really not prepared at all.  

I’ve decided to get supplies that would be helpful in the case of a natural disaster, or in the event of a terrorist attack or something similar. I know I should purchase canned food, bottled water, blankets, flashlights, first aid kit, etc. What are some other things I should include that I might be missing?

“The only factor becoming scarce in a world of abundance is human attention.” Kevin Kelly
3 Responses
1068689 tn?1325827206
I work as a volunteer in emergency management in my city as an Amateur Radio operator. We do a lot of emergency training and preparation at times. Having a disaster kit is always a good idea.

Some things I have done is to ensure there is a kit in each of my vehicles. A 1-3 day kit is usually good. I also have a large kit for my family at my home that will last for 2 weeks for a family of 5. Also each of my kids have a single kit that they have in their backpacks when they go out. These are pretty small but have the essentials in them.

There are so many ways to make a kit and you can do so without emptying your piggy bank. "Ready.gov" is a great place for you to start looking I think.
1223598 tn?1289968459
Personally I figure a wilderness survival kit is similar and more suited to my needs. Just like extreme back backing, I would think that during and after a disaster I will need my kit as lightweight as possible so it is easy to carry around, especially if i have to run.
My list of contents would include, "first aid skills"

- Iodine Tablets and Bleach for purifying dirty water
- Lightweight water flask for drinking.
- First Aid Kit, such as Gauze dressings, needle, triangle bandage, anti infection creams, tape, ect.
- Pain medications, or medications needed.