Aa
A
A
A
Close
Exercise & Fitness Community
5.94k Members

High heart rate during exercise

I am a new paramedic, and I recently took the physical fitness test at the hospital.  I was told that as a 33 year old female, my maximum heart rate should be around 158 during activity.  It was 198 at one point.  Unfortunately my active heart rate has always been high, and until this test, it has never been a problem.  I was told I need to figure out how to correct this.  Any ideas? Certain exercises, or medications?
91 Responses
You could try yoga. It's a calming exercise. Maybe just walking for cardio exercise. Also, stay away from caffiene.  Oh, and make sure you don't get dehydrated, that will cause the heart rate to go up too.  I am 38 yr old female and my heart rate sometimes goes to 200+bpm during exercise. I also get pain when it's that high.  Dr. put me on a beta blocker to slow the heart rate down.  Check with your doctor about what might help you.  Good luck!
I am having the same problem. I can't figure it out at all. I am only 22, female, 5'5", 116, vegetarian, don't smoke....very healthy. I have super low blood pressure but my resting and exercising heart rates are extremely high. I went to a cardiologist and they told me I was just out of shape. I have been working out at least 5 days a week for 2 monthsnow, 2 hr's a day, 45 minutes of consecutive cardio each day, and my heart rate isn't budging. If you figure out something that works, please post it. I feel like I'm doing everything and am at a loss.
121006 tn?1189759429