Aa
A
A
A
Close
Eye Care Archive Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

Crystalens vs. Restor Lens IOL implants

Hi All:
I am an optometric intern currently finishing my external rotations and I have been observing several cataract extractions using current techniques.  One of my parents is goig to need cataract surgery sometime in the near future and I was wondering which of the two multifocal implants has been met with the greatest patient satisfaction.  I have personally seen the Restor lens implanted but have not yet seen the results from these patients at followup.  I have not seen the Crystalens implanted not have I heard any patient testimonials.  I was wondering if anybody has personally seen and/or managed both of these types of implants.  Thanks.
EyeDoc007
45 Responses
I have read the vision newsgroup where it is said that none of the multifocal IOLs work well.
See my 9/27/05 posting; first implant was a bifocal lens -vision was never good and had complications; this lens was removed and regular lens was used, had problem with the "leg" not being inserted.
I've just been thru this with my dad and his cataract surgery.  I used the FDA website to compare labels for both the Restor and the crystalens.  My dad and I selected crystalens and are extremely happy with the outcome.  Issues we considered, Restor carried a warning label for night driving and crystalens did not.  The bifocal optics of the Restor were also a concern for my dad who had struggled with the bifocals in his spectacles.  My dad rarely uses glasses now.  I think the surgeon you choose plays a tremendous role in your success regardless of what lens you choose.  Make sure you find someone with experience