Aa
A
A
A
Close
Fibromyalgia Community
3.74k Members

Psoriatic Arthritis

I was diagnosed with psoriatic arthritis 4 years ago and have been on 200mg Plaquenil twice daily, I have taken medication for hypertension (IrbesartanHCT 300/12.5 & Adalat 20mg)and high cholesterol (Simvastatin 40mg)for 20 years, whilst the Plaquenil does not make me pain free. it has made it manageable. I have been travelling around the country for almost 4 years so visiting the doctor has been sporadic, recently I visited the doctor regarding pain in both shoulders and tenderness in both hips and pressure pain across the back of my head, she said she suspected polymyalgia but no tests were done she prescribed  Celebrex 100mg, after taking them for 10 days my blood pressure increased and I was put on the previously mentioned Adalat, after talking to a chemist he advised me that the Celebrex increased blood pressure so I discontinued them.
A few days ago I washed the car and the next day my shoulder was extremely painful, the pain went away after a few days but I am left with a pain on the lower right hand side of my head, it is bearable except when I bend over or reach for something, I am unable to lay on that side of my head.
I don't like to admit this but in the last 3 months I have had trouble remembering some words, for example I was trying to say the word laundry but couldn't remember it and had to say "the place you wash the clothes"
I do not want to go on steroids but am starting to run out of options or are there other options?
My question is really about the pain in my head and what it possibly be.
1 Responses
1530171 tn?1448129593
Hi angelap5119.

Your medications are probably accelerating your aging much faster than your conditions and nature itself.

While symptom management using prescribed or otc medications
is a necessary evil in some cases, the gradual long term effects
have not be studied effectively, because it is impossible to establish a