Aa
A
A
A
Close
Gastroenterology Community
31.5k Members

Colonoscopy without sedation

I'm 54 and have beeh having dark blood in the stool as well as recent onset change in bowel habits (alternating constipation/diarrhea) as well as a bad family history of colon cancer.  Since I'm a nurse, it seems like a no-brainer that I should get a colonoscopy, althought my doc said not to worry (she's making me feel like a pest for asking) and told me to take metamucil.  I can self-refer fo rthe test, but I want to have it without sedation; after recommending this test to hundreds of patients and seeing a number of them performed, I just won't do the "conscious sedation"; I have seen too many people with long-term memory impairment from Versed to consent to this.  About 10% of these exams are done without sedation (and most other countries don't use sedation), but when I try to schedule one, they "insist" on sedation.  Oh, and of course I'm allergic to eggs, so propofol is out, ut even if I wasn't I would not do the sedation.  Should I keep trying or give up?  What's the big deal with doing the exam without sedation?  I know it's uncomfortable; heck, I have seen a number of patients literally scream for the doc to stop the colonoscopy and this was with Versed; they rely on the amnesia effects to stupify the patient.  What bothers me, is that I see a lot of patients who have a PTSD-type reaction later when they start to remember how they were treated. I would rather experience and remember the discomfort.  My doc says that she would never get this exam, drugs or not........thanks
41 Responses