Aa
A
A
A
Close
Gastroenterology Community
31.5k Members
1583037 tn?1296627339

Unexplainable Abdominal Pain: Please Help!

I'm 15, I'm a sophomore in high school, and I've had unexplainable pain for the last year and a half. About a year and a half ago I started to have pain on the left side of my abdomen after almost every time I ate anything. We didn't do much about that. But this past October (2010) I started to have very bad pains on the right side of my abdomen, coming and going, and nothing specific triggered it. Thinking it might have been an appendicitis, my parents took me to the ER. I had an ultrasound and they said everything was normal and they blamed the pain on ovarian cysts and said I would be better in a couple days. I was taken back to the ER exactly a week later with the pain still there and still as intense as the first time. That time I saw two different ER doctors, and they performed a CT scan and said everything looked normal and didn't have an answer for me. Since then I have gone to 2 different pediatricians, a gynecologist (which said after looking at my tests that I never had ovarian cysts), and we're currently seeing a gastroenterologist. Last week I had a colonoscopy and an upperendoscopy and both returned with normal results. One of my friends has me wondering now if the pain is due to chronic pancreatitis, but some of the symptoms don't make sense, such as:
-my pancreas appeared normal on my CT scan
-my blood work has always come back normal
-most people complain of pain mostly on the left side and around the left back and a little pain on the right and in my situation it's the exact opposite

If you could point me in any sort of direction or tell me what kind of doctor I should go see or what tests to have done or anything that might help me I would really appreciate it!!
3 Responses
Have you had any bloodwork done?

Is the pain on the right side? Do you also get it on your back?

Do you have any chronic illnesses?