Aa
A
A
A
Close
Gastroenterology Community
31.5k Members

colectomy

I have been advised to have a colectomy because of numerous (hundreds) pseudo-polyps.  I have been screened for a genetic colon cancer gene link and was found NOT to have the gene. Presently I have no colon "problems". I am 61 years old and in very good health.  Able to work out daily, play with grand children, bicycle with my husband.  I am a semi-retired accountant and work out of my home.  Will having this colectomy drastically change my life style?  My cardiologist feels my cardio risk is low for the surgery but I should consider how this will affect my healthy lifestyle.

This discussion is related to Pseudo Polyps.
33 Responses
Hm, first it depends how they intend to reconnect your small intestine: to the rectum or toward the abdominal wall (stoma). Next - you can expect having lose stools at least on the beginning, since colon usually absorb about 1-1-5 liter of water. But small intestine should adapt after some time to absorb additional water.

Polyps may be from Crohn's disease, ischemic colitis or Clostridium difficile infection or other cause(?) . You should ask about the casue, they surely made several biopsies. If it was genetic type, you'd have developed cancer in your 40's.
Hi - I underwent a total colectomy four years ago (when I was 58) for torrential diverticular bleeding.  You can actually live quite satisfactorily without a colon and my life has pretty much returned to normal.  There are two aspects which it might be helpful to share with you as follows:-

aa) my recollections of the surgery:-

- purgative administered the day before
- IV anaesthetic just before the operation
- the operation lasted about four hours
- the wound was 10-11 inches long from the base of the sternum to the pubic area
- I woke up feeling pretty groggy and "beaten up"
- pain was quite well controlled via a spinal epidural
- nutrution etc was administered via IV for ~6 days afterwards