Aa
A
A
A
Close
Geriatrics Community
483 Members

Glomerular Filtration Rate

I was to have a cat scan on my left leg and abdomen yesterday but GFR rate of 33 cancelled that and today was rescheduled to have an angioplasty with possible stents with a cat scan later in month.  What does a GFR of 33 mean and is procedure now scheduled the normal follow up after a cancellation of a regular cat scan with contrast?
1 Responses
547368 tn?1440541785
Hi Bronz,

Welcome to the Senior Health Forum. I am glad that you found us and took the the to post your concern. You wrote this last night and I am assuming that the angioplasty with possible stents is taking place today. Is that correct?

If you check the forum you will see that Joan just asked a similar question about GFR. The two of you might want to touch base.

As I said above I am far from an expert. The GFR has to do with your kidney function and not the heart (angioplasty).

Glomerular filtration rate (GFR) is a test used to check how well the kidneys are working. Specifically, it estimates how much blood passes through the tiny filters in the kidneys, called glomeruli, each minute. It measures how well your kidneys are filtering a waste called creatinine, which is produced by the muscles. When the kidneys aren't working as well as they should, creatinine builds up in the blood. Your physician should have already drawn a Serum Creatinine level. A GFR is not an end all be all test, though it is a great diagnostic tool. There are additional tests that will aid in a correct diagnosis.

According to the National Kidney Foundation, normal GFR results range from 90 - 120 mL/min. Seniors will have lower normal GFR levels, because levels decreases with age.