Aa
A
A
A
Close
HIV - Prevention Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

HIV test

Hi, I am a nurse who was stuck by a needle on December 10, 2008. I showed it to my manager and she basically disregarded my stick as a stick because we didnt see any blood and was told not to report it to employee health. Well the pas week I have had a sore throat that lasted for two days, a low grade fever of 99.3, slight headache, and swollen lymph nodes in the neck, one small one in the right armpit and maybe a small one in the groin that i found yesterday. Well i went to several doc and they too disregarded me. I did my baseline testing and it was negative. Yesterday, one day away from being five weeks (34 days) i did another test and that too was negative.

my question is how reassuring is this test and what statistics do you have regarding accuracy of a HIV test at 34 days post exposure. Also should i be considered about the swollen lymph node in the armpit (its only one on the right side that occasionally becomes reactive every couple of months) and the small one on the right groin (another node that i too have to fish around and find)- basically the nodes on the neck arent too swollen either bc the PA states that they are slightly swollen and that if she fishes around too, she will find one node larger than another- is that true? Please help me i worried sick out of my mind
11 Responses
239123 tn?1267647614
MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL