Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

cut during surgery

Hello
I’m very scared right now. I work as an assistant in a clinic in Amsterdam and three weeks ago during surgery I got cut on a bloody scalpel. Now I’m very afraid of infection. My clinic doesn’t give me any support at all. They just say its normal and that its happening all the time. What worries me the most that now in week 4 I have headache and strong sensitivity of my eyes to sunlight. On Wikipedia it says that these are among the very common sympthoms of acute infection. When I asked one of the doctors at my clinic she said that this is true and might be caused by the virus.
As my clinic doesn’t support me at all on this maybe some expert is here who can reassure that these are strong signs for infection. Thanks for your support
11 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
Hard to believe the place you work is not giving you assistance. Makes me think that you might not be telling the truth.

Symptoms are not of HIV.

Go back to your place of work and demand action.
Helpful - 0
Yeah right. Why should i not tell truth. Im in the worst situation. They dont assist they only say i need to be test right after incident and 6 and 12 week. Right after i was neg. But why does wikipedia and also dr at my clinic say dizziness , headache and light sensitivity can be sign of seroconversion
Helpful - 0
Because many people don't tell the truth.

Because wikipedia is the best medical source on the net right? Symptoms have nothing to do with HIV.
Helpful - 0
Usually wikipedia provides reliable info as the info is checked by so many people . But what scared me most was that the doctors also told me that many infected people have ars sympthoms of tyredness and dizzyness and light sensitivity four weeks after infection. May i ask where you got your information from?
Helpful - 0
From better Dr's and websites then you. ARS if someone gets symptoms the primary ones are high fever, rash, sore throat and lymphnode swelling.
Helpful - 0