Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close
1323047 tn?1279193919

Low fat diet

I started a low fat diet to-day and am using alli a weight loss aid. I never dreamed I would use an aid but a friend did very well on it and looks well. Having a job to read small print for food though I need new glasses! The idea seems to be low fat diet which I agree with, any ideas? I have jacket potatoes without butter, baked beans, salad, cereal, not very imaginative to-day! Oh, and Tuna.
Best Answer
888132 tn?1304667943
I have been doing wieght watchers for the last 7 months, so far I have lostjust over 2 stone. I could have lost a lot more but I have been a bit slack about it. I am aiming to lose another couple of stones, I have a badly damaged ankle so being a low weight is important. I tried a low fat diet first but found it to be too hard to stick too as it was quite restrictive. Good thing about weight watchers is you can eat what you like, trouble is if you eat high calorie foods (therefore high in points) you go hungry once your points are used. This teaches you to eat food that is good for you. The first couple months were a bit of hassle but once I got my head around caculating the points it was easy.

I do not buy food that comes pre made as you have no control over what is in it. The main changes I have made are more about changing cooking methods and recipe's. For instance using cooking sprays insted of oil, most are less than a calorie per spray so instantly less than oil. I cook with quorn a lot too as this has no fat content, it takes a bit of experimetation to get the flavour of dishes good though. Pay attention to the size of carbohydrate portions too, suprised me how much I was eating that I did not need too. Poach fish and meat. Use marg insted of butter, the olive oil ones are good.

When I started weight watchers I focused on making a few meals that were low points and then slowly increased the dishes I cooked adjusting recipes as needed..

I hope that helps some!

3 Responses