Aa
A
A
A
Close
Healthy Cooking Community
1.25k Members

meals

Hello my name is Anna & I'm new to this app, I have already told a friend about it, anyway I love doing meal planning but still isn't the best at it, as our food budget has changed a lot, so anyone know how to feed a family of 7 on a smaller budget & still eat healthy, I am also looking for low sugar recipes as me & my hubby are diabetic & I don't like the fake sugar stuff. I love crockpot cooking, I love desserts, I look forward to all the responses.
2 Responses
6726276 tn?1421130268
I love to make soups. I start with a soup base that has very little sodium. It's sold in glass jars in 5 flavors.
I also know how to boil the bones. To make home made broth.
  I have no children but dreamed of having  5.
I make restaurant size portions & use the freezer a lot.
So at mealtime it's just defrost & add more seasonal vegetables.  Maxy
973741 tn?1342346373
COMMUNITY LEADER
Hi there!  Welcome to the group.  I will definitely add some recipes for you,  A family of 7!!  Wow, that is a big one.  My husband was one of 7 kids and then his parent, so 9 people. His mom sure made the budget spread out!!  

I think one thing with kids that is important is food they'll actually eat.  Do you ever do anything like substitute ground chicken for ground beef?  That has really helped me stay more to the lean meats while pleasing my kids with things like spaghetti for dinner (which you can spread a long way).