Aa
A
A
A
Close
Heart Health Community
361 Members
10948614 tn?1414173719

Can someone please explain cardiac related edema/water retention to me?

I've been walking around for three years with 3+ generalized pitting edema without dx or explanation and am really struggling to find an answer. I've been screened for heart (echo, chest x rays and ekgs reviewed by cardiologist), liver, kidney, thyroid, diabetes, low protein/albumin but nothing shows. BP normal and weight was normal prior to all this insane fluid retention. All of my docs are stumped and it's beginning to frighten/frustrate me.

The edema is everywhere--arms, hands, legs, and chest and is very uniform. If you didn't know I was carrying around any fluid, you'd think I was overweight and quite puffy looking. I can even feel it in the back of my neck when I turn my head.

I also have some recent dx of unspecific colitis and gastritis but the docs say no relation to the edema

I'm trying to rule out all forms of heart failure or heart related type disorders given how strong edema is correlated with heart failure.  I'm starting to doubt that my docs covered everything given how the edema is as present as ever and none of them are offering me a possible explanation.

Does the edema from heart failure tend to present as a generalized full body edema like mine or is it mostly confined to legs and lower body? I'm specifically thinking of edema related to right sided heart failure

5 Responses