Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Sharp chest pain

Hello I am seeking advise for a family member apparently yesterday in the middle of the night he experienced sharp chest pain that woke him up and scared him. He has been prescribed high blood pressure medication but denies to take them. He smokes and drinks daily has been told to quit. He performs construction work and works daily never misses work, and skips meals What shall I help him with?
7 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
I'm not a doctor but I would recommend he sees a doctor or go to the ER right away. What if it could be a heart attack? God forbid! The only thing similar I have had were from panic attacks. But they didn't have sharp pains and they never woke me at night. Please have him see a professional!
Helpful - 0
Thanks for replying and your right a Dr's visit would be the right direction
Helpful - 0
I agree, but I wouldn't wait a week to see a doctor; I'd go right now.  

This person has a number of risk factors for heart disease and/or stroke.

Curious: Why won't he take the meds for high blood pressure?  There a LOT of different drugs on the market for hypertension, and surely there must be one that would agree with him..

Good luck...
Helpful - 0
Hey there. Sounds like he needs a good wake up call and hopefully that was it. But he is a non compliant patient, so taking him to the doctor is only half the battle.  As far as a heart attack goes, it is usually a feeling of pressure and tightness at the chest, accompanied by sweating, weakness and difficulty breathing. A sharp pain is more like indigestion or gallbladder. Anyway, don't tell him that. Get him to the doctor.
Helpful - 0
PS to answer your question, it sounds like he has an issue with alcohol.  If he drinks daily and skips meals that could be a sign. He may not want to take the BP meds cause you can't drink with them. Why not ask him why he won't.  Perhaps the thing you should help him with is the drinking.
Helpful - 0
733362 tn?1489794936