Aa
A
A
A
Close
Heart Rhythm Community
12.2k Members

Abnormally slow heart rate 39bpm

I'm a college student and I just had a physical as required by my study abroad program. Everything was fine except for my heart rate. It was abnormally slow at 39bpm and 37bpm. They wouldn't sign my medical form and I have to see a cardiologist.

I'm a 20 year old male, 5'10 and a half, 147 pounds. I exercise a ton, basketball, weightlifting, and have always been known for my great stamina. Eat extremely healthy. No health problems.

What I didn't tell my physician was that I'm a daily marijuana smoker. And I didn't tell her how much I drink. Usually I drink no more than 2-3 nights a week, but I just came off a huge bender in which I drank Friday and Saturday, got really drunk  Monday and Tuesday, got really drunk Friday and Saturday, drank Sunday, got pretty drunk last night. Lastly, I ate mushrooms on Saturday, which I hadn't done in about 6 months. It might also be worth pointing out that I haven't smoked marijuana since Thursday and don't plan on doing so for a little while longer, probably another week or so. Also, about 3 months ago I started taking adderall occasionally to study, probably about three times every two weeks, usually 30 mg extended release, sometimes two 5 mg instant release.

They gave me an EKG and there were no irregularities with my pulse. It's just slow.

So I have two questions: What's wrong with my heart, if anything? And can I tell my physician/the cardiologist about my recent drug use? I don't want my parents to find out, and I don't want my insurance to go up. But of course I want to make sure there's nothing wrong with me.

Please help, and thanks so much.
2 Responses
612551 tn?1450022175
COMMUNITY LEADER
Sounds to me like you need to give your body a couple of weeks of "healthy" living and seeing if your heart condition improves.