A
A
A
Close
Heart Rhythm Community
12.1k Members

SVT all of a sudden?

Hi All,
I am a healthy and health conscious 28 year old F. I just had my first ever episode of what seems to be SVT (at least that's what the paperwork on the ER discharge papers says). I was sitting at my desk not doing anything particularly stressful or anxiety producing and all of a sudden my heart started to beat very fast. I went to the nurse who quickly called 911. They clocked me with a hr of 214 after hooking me up and started an IV and had to administer 2 doses of adenosine for it to slow down. I'm going to see a cardiologist in a few days but am anxious to understand what's happening. For those of you with SVT, did it happen all of a sudden?  I have been drinking a (large) cup of coffee every morning for about 12 years and am a social drinker but nothing extreme. I am scared to drink coffee or alcohol after reading that it can trigger, but why would it happen the other day and never before? Can anyone share a similar story or tell me how you had to change your life/routines after being diagnosed? If there is an MD here, do you advise patients to quit caffeine and alcohol altogether? I have only those two vices and am pretty scared to think of having to change my life because of this. Thanks for your help.
9 Responses
1124887 tn?1313758491
If adenosine worked, you probably had a so-called "AV Nodal Reentry Tachycardia" (AVNRT). That's the most common supraventricular tachycardia in young healthy people.

I can tell you what's happening.

Heart beats are (roughly) conducted from sinus node -> atrial tissue -> AV node -> His bundle -> ventricular tissue. On the way from atrias to ventricles, the beat is slowed in the AV node, to allow the atrias to beat, filling the ventricles extra, before the blood is pumped out in the body and lungs from left and right ventricle.

It works just like a hourglass (though a bit faster). The AV node is the delay in the middle.