Aa
A
A
A
Close
Heart Rhythm Community
12.2k Members

SVT correlated with slow HR recovery during moderate exercise?

Hello everyone.  I am a 45 year old amateur bicycle racer in excellent physical condition, with pSVT, self diagnosed.  I have episodes 3-4x per year.  

My resting HR is about 48 bpm, and my max HR is about 182.  During an SVT episode my HR will go over 200.

The trigger is always the same: a hard physical effort that abruptly transitions to a lesser effort (for example, climbing a hill and reaching the top).  I had an episode today just after climbing a big hill.  The HR monitor recorded an immediate jump from 120 to over 200, and an immediate recovery to 75 when the episode ended.  I have attached an image of the HR recording.

Valsalva has never worked for me, at all.  The only way to stop the episodes is lying flat on my back.  After I lie down the episodes always end within 30 seconds.  The episode today lasted over 5 minutes because it started while I was cycling on a busy road and I had to get to somewhere I could lay down safely.

I have lived with these episodes my whole life and consider them a nuisance, but I do not get anxious or panicked.  I have never considered pharmaceutical treatment or ablation.

My question is specific to HR behavior during vigorous exercise, and is somewhat technical.  Lately I have been comparing my HR recordings to other members of my racing team.  My HR recovers quickly and normally when I stop exercising completely.  But when I transition from a hard effort to a moderate effort, my HR remains much higher than my teammates.