A
A
A
Close
Hepatitis C Community
13.3k Members
4726133 tn?1361993373

Good stuff for your liver?

So, I've got hep c. I'm still a bit freaked out, anxious, a little depressed etc. However, I don't think any of that is going to help me beat this thing. Time to buck and do something about it instead of moping, I hate it when other people mope so I need to apply that to myself as well. I'm open to suggestions. I know you guys have some great info. I've COMPLETELY changed my eating habits. No more excess sugar ( never liked the stuff anyway so that one was easy). I cut out the red meat( that one is tough, I like steaks). Nothing fried. Eating raw veggies. Chicken. Less fat. No soda. Lots of water and green tea. All this is well and good but I can't help but think there's more that can be done. Anything that you guys have tried that breaks up the monotony of a rather boring diet? I'm a cook at The "Blank"cake "blank"tory so I have access to all sorts of ingredients. Also any supplements that might help me out before treatment? Any other suggestions? Types of exercise? Anything...
23 Responses
While eating right is always a good ideal I am not sure that eating a boring diet all the time is needed, as a matter of fact I am cirrhotic and while my doctor is all for eating better and not gaining weight it is nothing he harps about... I really don't think eating a steak at times is going to do much harm... This is a lot easier to deal with if we don't torture ourselfs... Wishing you the best......
766573 tn?1365170066
You sound like you are on the right track. I agree with Can-do, not gaining weight or being close to your body weight seems more the thing. I am not super big on sweets but Tres Leche Cake is my ultimate weakness so more power to you for working anywhere near baked goods!! I can't think anything I have read lately that isn't consistent with common sense:
Hepatitis C patients should go easy on sugary, salty & fatty foods