Aa
A
A
A
Close
Hepatitis C Community
13.3k Members

Headaches during treatment

Hi all - I have enjoyed reading these posts and have learned a lot - so good to know I am not alone....  I am 4/48 wks into treatment (Pegasus/Ribavirin).  I am having headaches, sometimes severe, in the afternoons. I am drinking lots of water, and going home from work early...  Does anyone have any ideas on how to prevent/manage these ? I am a newbie at this, and any advice is appreciated!!!!
thanks
Sammy
15 Responses
Hi,,,Sorry to hear you are experiencing the bad headaches.  I am at end of tx but for some reason the first couple of months of my tx,,,,the headaches seemed worse then.  They then went away and I didn't get anymore until about 7th month for few weeks and then that has been it.  I did get a prescription from my dr for migraines but seemed like if I took a couple of ibuprofen,,,that would usually kick in and relieve it some.  Keep drinking the water and also see if you are eating anything that could trigger them more so.  Good Luck and hope you get to feeling better!
My doctor gave me a nasal spray called Stadol. It's very fast and very effective, but also very addictive. One spray in each nostril always worked. Tylenol and Ibupropen did nothing for the headaches, and this spray, since it takes so little, was better for my liver, which is cirrhotic. Dr.s hesitate w/ it since it is so addictive, but one bottle is all it took to get me through 24 weeks and I had alot of headaches.   Joni
I had really bad headaches which turned into migraines; which would last forever.  About wk 9, my doc prescribed Imitrex which did wonders for me.  I believe the headaches were mainly what was keeping me so physically sick.  Once I got rid of them, the rest seemed like a cakewalk.  If you think your headaches are migraines, check with your dr on what you can take.  The Imitrex is expensive and will not work unless it's a migraine.