Aa
A
A
A
Close
Hepatitis C Community
13.4k Members

Melatonin

Does anyone know if it's safe to take Melatonin (3 mg) nightly as a natural sleep aid?  I've been taking it for about a week & really like it, it relaxes me at bedtime, but doesn't leave me with the groggy/hangover feeling in the morning.  I've already read that some studies suggest that people with autoimmune disorders should avoid taking it, but what about garden variety Hep C?
12 Responses
86075 tn?1238115091
I used to take it, and it worked better for me then it does now, guess my insomnia now can fight the toughest adversary's, ha ha! I know people who've been taking for years now, w/out any problems, but then I'm no expert....
I've taken it on occasion as well (it also really helps w/jet lag when taken at bedtime of the new time zone)...my trial doctor and nurse recommend trying Melatonin before they will prescribe sleep aids - FYI.
It's fine as long as you don't take too much. If you take too much your body will not make it's own melatonin.
154668 tn?1290115995
I responded well to melatonin before I was diagnosed.  When I started treatment, I found many warning like the ones below and decided against it.  Just Google "melatonin warning liver".  The best advice is to check with your doctor.

Melatonin Oral Precautions
Before taking melatonin, tell your doctor or pharmacist if you are allergic to it; or if you have any other allergies.

If you have any of the following health problems, consult your doctor or pharmacist before using this product: diabetes, high blood pressure, immune system disorder, liver disease, mental/mood disorder (e.g., depression), seizure disorder (e.g., epilepsy).

This drug may make you dizzy or drowsy. Use caution while driving, using machinery, or doing any activity that requires alertness. Limit alcoholic beverages.