Aa
A
A
A
Close
Hepatitis C Community
13.4k Members

Restarting treatment earlier. Is it a mistake?

Hi, I received my first UND in July and then my Peg/riba treatment was interupted off and on the next few months due to illness.  I am still receiving treatment for an opportunistic lung infection which is apparently very stuborn.  I am post transplant also so my immune system was pretty low.  Also I worked in a hospital in a highly infectious area.  Won't do that again.   Anyway I have had no treatment for the HCV since Sept.  My November VL came back UND.  I was thrilled but a little surprised
      I asked my doctors if I could start the Peg/riba again so as not to loose this opportunity to acheive SVR but they all seem to put the question off or refer it to another doctor for approval.  Final say was to come from the transplant team in Miami.  They don't see me until Dec 12th and was told to wait until I was seen.  My nurse co-ordinator is out ill and no one is responding to my plea for more immediate help.
   I feel better than I have in months.  No doctor has givin me a reason for any kind of interaction with the ribasome I am taking.  Last Wed I had blood drawn and my liver enymes had elevated from 14 to the 50's.  Scared me.  I took the peg and riba on Thanksgiving on my own.  Seemed bad to wait for appointments when the meds are in the fridge.  After about 6 hours I had a bad flu-like reaction but the next day I was better and am continuing to do well.
    Do you think I messed things up> I am planning to take it again on Thursday.  By the time my Dec 12th appointment rolls around I will have taken it 3 weeks. If I feel ok which uspectI will should I tell the
41 Responses
how sensitive were the tests used in July and Nov?

what was your total tx time?  You have been negative for two months post  tx, and still negative.
what was your genotype again?