A
A
A
Close
Infectious Diseases Community
1.79k Members

Frequent Infections

Hello there.

I am a 23 year old who eats well and is very physically active, but I have been experiencing infection after infection lately. It all started two or three months ago with a UTI. I have had a UTI in the past so I wasn't entirely surprised by it, and it quickly resolved with a course of Cipro. However, a few weeks after the UTI I developed a pretty substantial case of diarrhea that lasted for an entire week. I went to the doctor and was told I likely have C. diff due to being on recent antibiotics and because I work in a hospital setting. I was prescribed a course of Flagyl. The Flagyl seemed to work, although I developed some kind of peripheral neuropathy around the same time involving muscle twitching and cramping. Called the doctor about that when it persisted, who told me it could actually be a side effect (albeit a rare one) of the Flagyl or due to an electrolyte imbalance from the diarrhea. I began taking magnesium/calcium supplements and increased my potassium intake, although the symptoms have still persisted somewhat. Then, one week later I developed oral thrush. I returned to the doctor yet again and was prescribed Nystatin, which seems to be working. I was told it was likely the Flagyl, but it still is not common in adults. And then, three days ago, I seemed to develop consistent diarrhea again. I am very worried the C. diff. is recurring.