Aa
A
A
A
Close
Lupus Community
1.43k Members

Dr office not much help

Ok, I'm totally new with this, so pls forgive my ignorance.  I have had TONS of blood work in the past 60 days.  A few things have stood out... but my Dr office is not especially helpful or communicative.  They like to send you electronic messages with little details.  

The main thing at this point are as follows:

ANA Direct = Positive (no actual reading given)
Anti-DNA(DS) Ab Qn = 12

Some of my symptoms are as follows:

irregular period
fatigue/weakness
hot flashes-profuse sweating (without exercising)
inability to lose weight despite diet & regular exercise
uncharacteristic acne (in scalp)

I have suffered from long term moderate depression for about 20 years or so, but symptoms are managed with 150 mg effexor xr.  

The last message I got was "refer to Rhuem" and that was it...  no explanation, no nothing.  I'm doing my own research - since clearly they are too busy or incapable of explaining anything to me.

I read that there are 11 symptoms of Lupus... and I can't say for sure that I consistently have more than like 2 of them maybe...  so what does this all mean? Anything? Nothing?  

I've got tons of lab work, so if anything else might be helpful, let me know what to look for (or ask them) and I'll try to get some addtl info.  

Thanks

3 Responses
351246 tn?1379685732
MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL
Hi!
I am sorry to hear about your medical problems. The symptoms of irregular periods, acne, inability of lose weight and hot flashes sound more like polycystic ovarian disease or menopause or pre-menopause or hypothyroidism or diabetes. Please consult your doctor regarding these possibilities.
Besides lupus, dsDNA antibodies are also seen in rheumatoid arthritis, viral infections, autoimmune hepatitis, and myeloma. This may be a false positive result. It would be better to repeat the complete antibody panel for lupus which also includes Anti-Ro and Anti-Sm. Take care!