Aa
A
A
A
Close
Lupus Community
1.43k Members

What is a low ANA? And Lupus question.

I'm confused and a bit frustrated. I've been going back to my rheumatologist because I had a checkup yesterday and my doctor said he saw the butterfly rash, and everytime I've gone to the rheumatologist he didn't see it, so the doctor told me to go back and see my rheumatologist and he said it is the butterfly rash and it's consistant with lupus which he ruled out earlier. Another doctor diagnosed me with Fibromyalgia, and now my rheumatologist suspects lupus.

Now my question, my mom is the only one who saw my ANA titer, I didn't get to peek at it, and she said it was 20. Is that low, normal, is she remembering wrong? I thought there had ot be a 1:, I'm new at this sorry. As far as ANA tests go anyway.

I've been having tests done a lot, and he said my lupus titer was negative, so why do I have the rash? Can I have lupus and the test be negative? He said when he had the tests done yesterday that he was looking to see if the lupus was internal? What does that mean? Thanks for your input.
3 Responses
Not to sound rude or anything but how old are you? When my doctors first suspected anything I was 15. I went through the exact same thing as you. My lupus tier would come back negitive then a few would peak and become positive with the next test. My ANA went all over the place. I would come to my regular doctor with my rash enflamed but then my levels would change and by the time I got to the rheumatolagist the flare had ended and they couldn't make it out.

As far as being diagnoised with fibro, it is a new condition that is still not fully understood. Its possible You have been misdiagnosed. It is possible that you have lupus and it is causing the same pain pattern as fibro. It is also fairly common for fibro to go hand in hand with other diseases or injury. So it is possible to have both, like me :), which makes the diagnosis even more difficult for your doctor.