A
A
A
Close
Lyme Disease Community
2.11k Members
280418 tn?1306325910

This is my Three Year Anniversary of this Crazy Illness

August 2006, my big toe started burning and going numb.  Fast forward to now:  taking meds for a couple of months for Lyme disease.  It should NEVER take this long for a diagnosis.  NEVER.  I am thankful to have a diagnosis, but I cannot believe the hell I have went through and the scrutiny I have been under, simply b/c I was sick.  Politics and pride have this illness so obscure that it's next to impossible to get treatment.

I cannot express the anger I have when a doc brushes off my diagnosis.  I don't think I will last one minute after they blow me off, anymore.  I will stand up and walk out.  I am compiling a literature review on chronic Lyme disease.  These docs will have a copy:)  I know more than most of them about every aspect of this disease, and I'm just getting started!  I wouldn't know anything about it either, if I or one of my loved ones did not have it!  I think I will ask the next doc that brushes it off to take a tick, place it on their arm and let it bite them it front of me.  Now, does this doc feel comfortable that he will not get sick?  Doubtful!  If they are that sure that Lyme is not chronic - then let's do a little experiement doc.  

When are we going to find our political avenue to making our plight known and irresponsible to deny?  Do we need a march on capitol hill in lime green shirts?  I think so:)  Perhaps each of us should contact our local newspaper and ask that our story is told?  Yeah, I'm goin' there....
4 Responses
Condolences on your 'anniversary'.  I totally agree with what you say and how you feel.  

The good news is, you feel well enough to get heated up on the issue -- so I hope that means you are getting better.  

I recommend the ILADS [dot] org website as a starting place for those who want to become more educated and/or involved on issues, diagnosis and treatment.