A
A
A
Close
Multiple Sclerosis Community
9.18k Members

Getting tested making sure I get the right tests

Hello all
I have a few things that are bothering me. I don't know if they are connected or just signs of getting older. I am an electrician and work in construction. I have been waking up with numb hands, especially my left one. I would normally suspect carpal tunnel, but my brother has MS. I also have a burning feeling on my left foot. None of these symptoms is constant, sometimes it happens a few times a day or not at all. My vision is getting worse but typical for my age. I do have some weakness in my left arm but don't know if it is connected. I dislocated my left shoulder in my twenties and it does bother me sometimes.
I find many opinions about genetics and the chance of MS in the same family. My brother says that there is some genetic component. Because I am more likely to get it than the average person, I worry about it.
I made an appointment with a Nero and want to get the proper diagnosis as quick as possible. Because the sooner you start taking medication, the less likely you will lose the full use of your body.
What tests should I get to get the fastest diagnosis?
1 Responses
There is a whole world of tests to do.  First, the doc should do a background on you so it would be good to have a timeline set up prior to give him as much info as possible.  Second, the doc should do a thorough neuro exam, reflexes, look for weakness, etc.  Third, will be a whole lot of blood tests to rule out other problems.  Fourth, a MRI with MS protocol and w/wo contrast should be ordered, this is the big test.  He should do a spinal MRI also.  All that will paint a pretty good picture.

From there a Lumbar Puncture might be ordered.  I think it is a good test to take but since it doesn't mean a lot if it's negative and you don't need it to get diagnosed some feel it's unecessary.  But, if it is positive I think it's a really good indicator.