Aa
A
A
A
Close
Neurology Community
45.1k Members

44YOA female, Good health, C6-7 herniation -surgery or not??

Just saw it the first time today.  I am a 44 year old healthy female, I have been a nurse since 1991 (I tell you this so you have some idea of who I am). I am a busy mother of 2 teenagers - we eat relatively healthy, 5'7" and 140lbs.  Went ziplining with the family on 1/6/14 - symptoms started 1/7/2014.  Took a Medrol Dose Pack starting 1/9/2014.

MRI on 1/16/2014 showed:
1: There is a 4-5mm right paracentral and lateral recess extrusion with slight caudal extension which moderately flattens the right anterior cord moderate to severely narrowing the right lateral recess affecting the traversing right C7 nerve root.  The extrusion narrows the entrance to the right proximal C7 nerve root canal. There is a 1-2mm bulging of the remainder of the annulus.  The left neural foramen in patent.
2: Reversal of normal cervical lordosis (I believe this was due to severe spasming and pain at time of study)

XRAY:
2 viewed cervical spine. AP shows normal cervical vertebrae. Alignment normal. No cervical ribs noted. Lateral view shows normal throughout cervical spine. No anteriolisthesis noted. No diffuse spondylosis noted.

Had an epidural on 1/29/2014

EMG on 2/13/2014
Reveals evidence of moderate right C7 radiculopathy with acute denervation.
All nerve conduction studies were within normal limits.
All F wave latencies WNL