A
A
A
Close
Neurology Community
45k Members

Neurology

I'm a 53 y/o male.

I've been fighting this problem for 4+ years and doctors can't find anything.

Both feet, on the bottom sides, when I walk, feels like blisters under the skin (entire bottom sides).
You can't feel anything by touching the external skin. My feet usually swell and tingle most of the time.
I also get occasional burning sensations.

I've been to medical doctors, neurologists, podiatry, reflexologist, chiropractors, but they don't have a clue.

Doctors have given me various medications, X-Rays, but the problem continues to get worse.
I wear Dr Schols feet pads in my shoes, but only slightly helps with the pain.

I was wondering if you could give me any suggestions?

Thanks

Stan Miller
6 Responses
Sounds just like peripheral neuropathy to me.  I have it.  At first it came from a bad back, I had neuropathy just a little in one foot and up into my lower leg, to where I couldn't feel those pins they stick in me.  It was in the sole of my foot on the side, had the same swelling as you, stingy, and redness, pain.  Well, then I had chemotherapy, and that can induce neuropathy in the hands and feet, and after a year it subsided in my hands mostly, but my feet are still a pretty big problem, which now they will be that way for good.  Mine additionally feels numb, like cotton is wrapped around my toes, but I do have a pretty bad kind.  But gosh, it hurts SO bad to walk on them.

Now, peripheral neuropathy can be caused by a variety of things, including the ones I just mentioned, plus diabetes, poor circulation, injury, and other stuff.  So, since you've been thru the mill with docs, I won't suggest this test or that diagnosis, but at least have them do a blood draw and find out what your sugars are, to rule out diabetes, becuz you don't want that one to get away from you.  They should also scan your foot and your lower back.