Aa
A
A
A
Close
Neurology Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

Scared to death.....

Hi.  I know you get questions like this all the time, but please....I just need something to hang on to.  

I have been twitching (Fsciculating) for approximately 4 months now.  It occurs in my feet, calves, hands, face.  Mostly in my calves and feet and prodominately on my left side.  I've been to two neurologists and both say it is my nerves.  The fist wanted me on PAXIL which I tried and did not agree with me.  Then I went to a Psychiatrist and he put me on BusPar (which helped only slightly with my anxiety).  The second Neuro put me through the clinical exam and said that I have nothing to worry about because the exam shows NOTHING out of the ordinary.  I went back to him after a couple of weeks because my fingers started twitching and he seemed a bit aggrivated because I didn't believe him.  I asked him about an EMG and he said that he STRONGLY discourages it and he felt that it would not help my problem and that I would keep finding symptoms related to ALS.  I scheduled one anyway but that doesn't come until Jan 22.  He did a NCV test on me (because I am a Diabetic) to check the nerve conduction to see if the Diabeties might be playing a role, but that came out normal.  I don't believe I have any weakness although being so hypervigilant (SP?) I can feel a slight difference from my left to my right hand.  I can also make my feet cramp up very easily by curling my toes.....this scares me as well.  I know this posting is all over the place, but I am shaking even when I am typing this because I am so scared.  Thanks in advance for your response.
Regards,
Brian
43 Responses