Aa
A
A
A
Close
Neurology Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

Shoulder injury

I am a nurse and was working in psych.....3 1/2 yrs. ago I was involved in a take down with a patient and tore the tendon in my right shoulder. I was sent to therapy which made it worse and after about 4 months I had an open surgery to repair the tendon. I was never free of pain and after the surgery the pain started going down my right arm into my hand with numbness and tingling in all the fingers. Approx. one year later I developed a lump on the top of my shoulder, which to me looked as if it was in the center the clavical. An MRI was done which showed osteophyte formation at the acromioclavicular joint with degeneration. My doctor referred me to another orthopedic surgeon. He did an EMG test which showed some problem in the bracial plexus area. A second surgery was performed via a scope to remove scar tissue and shave the bone.
The pain in the shoulder and down the arm still did not go away after approx. 9 months. A second EMG was performed and this one was negative. I was then refered to a surgeon for the hand, 3 months ago carpal tunnel release was performed. The dumbness and tingling is gone from the fingers but I continue to have pain up the outside of my hand near the wrist up to my elbow.