Aa
A
A
A
Close
Neurology Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

provigil side effects

I am a 23 year old student and have had multiple sclerosis for nearly 3 years now.
I have recently been prescribed Provigil to help with chronic fatigue during the day. I have been taking it for about a month now but lately I have noticed increased levels of anxiety. It is coming to the end of the semester and there are obviously deadlines looming etc and I am a naturally anxious person but I have never had this kind of anxiety. My heart feels like it's thudding all the time in my chest at night and it feels faster. Last night I only managed 3 and a half hours of sleep even though I was absolutely shattered because my heart was thudding so much and I was extremely anxious. I'm pretty sure this is to do with the provigil. I can't function without the provigil though as i tried on saturday. Is there anything I can do to cease the anxiety. I do not feel that it is productive for my degree.
Thank you for your help.
Tara Martin
2 Responses
292349 tn?1201481643
MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL
Hi tarmarti,

Yes, provigil can cause all of your symptoms.  

5% anxiety
5% insomnia
2% palpitation
2% tachycardia

I copied below the side effect profile of provigil.  You can take the tablet in the morning, so it will have less effect on your sleep.  I would recommend to cut down the dosage since you have anxiety and insomnia that are potentially disabling.

ADVERSE REACTIONS SIGNIFICANT
>10%:
  Central nervous system: Headache (34%, dose related)
  Gastrointestinal: Nausea (11%)

1% to 10%:
  Cardiovascular: Chest pain (3%), hypertension (3%), palpitation (2%), tachycardia (2%), vasodilation (2%), edema (1%)