Aa
A
A
A
Close
Nutrition Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

diet/exercise

I am a 43-year-old female, 5'7, 200 pounds, and need to lose 50 pounds.  I have been working out for three months three to four times a week.  Two days, 1 hour of cardio.  2 days, upper body one day then lower body the other with 40 mins of cardio on those days as well.  I had been sedentary pretty much before this.   I have limited calorie intake to 1200 -1500 calories per day.  I drink 8-12 glasses of water each day.  I am eating from all food groups and have not lost anything but maybe a pound or two.  My cardio workouts are at approx. 75% of max heart rate at this point.  I don't sweat, and people at my gym say I'm not pushing myself enough.  I feel I am.  It was suggested that I see a nutritionist, but there isn't one available where I live and I'm not sure what to look for in a nutritionist.  I don't want a generic plan.  I want one just for me.  I am so discouraged because I truly thought the change in lifestyle would certainly produce some weight loss results rather quickly going from nothing to actually doing something.  What can I do?  If there is any inches lost, it is very minimal.  I don't want to give up, but I'm not reaping the harvest of all the work I'm doing.  Am I doing something wrong?  Is a nutritionist my answer?  Am I not pushing myself enough?  
1 Responses
267079 tn?1195146570
MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL