Aa
A
A
A
Close
Occupational Health & Safety Community
209 Members

Eye Irritation since previous work injury

My eye irritation has been getting worse and worse. From the beginning...I am an electrician, back in December or January, I had a freak accident where I was poked in the eye with a wire (NOT live) even though I had safety glasses on...Nothing was embedded in my eye, it was just the wire sticking out of the box and I turned my head JUST right so that the wire slid along my temple and behind my glasses and did its damage. I ended up at an occupational urgent care as I could not bear the pain any longer. It ended up being a minor corneal abrasion. I used my eyedrops, went to follow up appointments, etc, everything as instructed; until I was cleared. Everything healed up nicely, no effect on vision or anything else, at least at the time. It was a few months later that a random irritation developed, I figured out the pattern of when the irritation occurred and was able to avoid it for a while, at least until recently. So, the pattern was when I ended up putting pressure on my eyelid, happened mostly after my massages with my face in the donut pillow on the table, but it would also happen if I laid down in bed and held my head funny so my pillow was putting pressure on it. Sometimes even just rubbing my eyes for too long will cause the irritation. It feels the same as when I get an eyelash stuck in my eye, even though there is nothing in my eye. My wife and I think we can see what looks to be like a pimple way up inside my eyelid (not near the lashes like a stye) when peeling my lid up and open. And it seems like it grazing across the eyeball is causing all of the irritation...however, that blemish is still visible when I haven't had any flare ups in a few weeks, so I'm not convinced that it is the issue.