Aa
A
A
A
Close
Occupational Health & Safety Community
218 Members

The phlebotomist didn't wash her hands before a blood draw. Should we be concerned?

My grandfather went to a lab to get bloodwork and the phlebotomist was in a hurry and going from patient to patient, even handling a urine sample, without washing her hands. I don't know if any of the people she saw had any diseases like Hepatitis B, Hepatitis C, HIV 1/2, HTLV I/II, Syphilis,  West Nile Virus, T. Cruzi (Chagas)
CMV (cytomegalovirus) from this. I'm not a doctor but I think she did everything else right like cleaning the area with alcohol before drawing and stuff.
4 Responses
144586 tn?1284666164
For years and years, people did not wash their hands before going from patient to patiient drawing bloods. This is clearly not a recommended practice, however I am sure they did not touch the trochar, which is the only important issue. I would not be overly concerned. You might write a polite note to his/her superior, calling this to their attention.
2 Comments
I did inform their supervisor. By trochar are you referring to the needle? I don't think she touched the needle. She did touch his skin and I think I did see her wipe it with alcohol before sticking him.
cont. He's 91 and I don't know how much longer I have with him and I don't want to have caused him harm by not speaking up before he walked in. I saw this going on that day and I just didn't speak up. I feel guilty and concerned so that's why I posted this.
144586 tn?1284666164
You did the right thing by speaking up. More importantly, always question the need for a blood draw. Unnecessary blood draws in the elderly are a problem. These are usually done for insurance purposes. Blood draws are performed through a hollow needle, called as trochar.