Aa
A
A
A
Close
Orthopedics Community
12.6k Members

do i need surgery?

Hello. I'm a 27 years old student with a history of recurrent patella dislocations in both knees. I was just recently diagnosed with osteoarthritis in my right knee. My left knee seems fairly ok because i haven't had any dislocation on it for a while. I've had several subluxation in my other knee, about 5 last year year, which had a doctor worried about my right knee after i got an MRI done. Last year, he told me that i should get surgery because i could get arthritis. Now that i have arthritis, I'm beginning to think he is right....maybe i do need surgery. Ever since i moved to Beijing for my masters, my knee started getting swollen after walking around too much. I didn't even have any subluxations and it started swelling just because I've been having a lot of activities which i normally didn't have before.  I couldn't walk around much without pain so i was prescribed anti-inflammation  pacthes to be put on my right knee and glucosamine sulfate. I had an another MRI done of which the doctor said that my cartilage was wearing off because of how my patella is higher than normal. I don't exercise much at all so because of that my quadricep muscles are weak and cannot support my patella. The doctor recommended athroscopic surgery so now i just don't know what to do. I don't have insurance anymore since i graduated from university. This university I'm in right now doesn't really a good insurance plan, it's only for accidental events. Pls pls give me some advice, I'm just so confused and frustrated!!!!
1 Responses
1711789 tn?1361311607
MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL
Hi there!