Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Work during chemo

Recently diagnosed with clear cell ovarian ca and will be undergoing chemo just had TAHBSO .I work as a nurse anybody out there can shed some light if its possible to work since I really want to go back to work and go on with my life slowly.Any recommendations.Thank you in advance.
7 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
Thank you for your response just wondering how old you are? You are a very active person it seems like.i do have short term disability but just thinking I want to live somewhat normal life and fight.i guess it would depend if my manager will accommodate my work hours and working around patients.
Helpful - 0
I had standard carbo/taxol chemo every four weeks for six cycles.  I didn't suffer nausea or anything like that.  But boy did I have constipation.  (That's from the pills they give you to fight the chemo side effects, I'm told.)  

I did have a little bit of peripheral neuropathy.  They told me to take B6, and that helped.  After a few cycles, my blood tests showed the need for Neulasta to  improve my white blood cell count and fight infection.  It was very expensive, and I begged my primary doctor's nurse to administer it because I just couldn't self-administer the shot.  It's one shot per month.  Tip:  I think the predecessor drug required several shots but was lots less expensive.  

The worst part (because I'm more vain than I ever thought) was losing my hair.  If you're on carbo/taxol, you will lose your hair.  I got a good wig because of an important family event -- I wanted to look like myself in the photos, which will be around forever.  (My cousin, who is less vain, bought a variety of cheap wigs and tried out various hair colors, styles, etc.  She said her employees never knew what personality was going to show up for work!)  My hair came back strong but curly for the first year;  I'm glad to be back to normal now.