Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Fentanyl Patch

Does anyone know if you remove the patch and leave it affixed to plastic, will the medicine seep out, and fade away? Or does it only release medication on your skin when in contact with heat?
4 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
im a nurse and im not at at all sure on that one.  but id say after it has been stuck to skin it should be thrown
Helpful - 0
I'm not 100% positive and I'm no doctor or pharmacist, but I would say the med probably would not seep out if the patch is just left out - at least not very quckly.  The way the patch is designed is that the medication is release by your body heat and therefore it would make sense that if that body heat is not there, then the medication would not be released.

HOWEVER, I'm also wondering if maybe since the patch had been attached to the body and then removed, it the "pores" of the patch are now more open (from having that body heat) and therefore, a small amount may be released.  I do know that there is a warning on the patch boxes (or at least used to be when I was on them several years ago) about making sure when you remove the patch you had on, that you fold it with the adhesive sides touching each other to avoid someone who has not be prescribed the med getting in contact with it or the med getting on other things in the trash.  So I'm kinda guessing a small amount would be rleased.

Why is it that you removed the patch?  And why wasn't it just trashed and a new patch put on?

the other concern with removing the patch and putting it on plastic or something - even if the medication doesn't dissipate away, the adhesive most certainly will not be as strong when you reapply it, so therefore you may not get the same pain control as when you first applied it - because it may buckle or simply not stay stuck.

Helpful - 0