Aa
A
A
A
Close
Pain Management Community
9.72k Members

Please tell me the pain after 5weeks of total knee replacement will stop soon !!!

Omg, I had Min. Ivase. Total Knee Replacement 5 weeks ago.  Reacted badly to pain meds and stayed in the hospital 3 days then a week in a nursing home.  The pain is none stop even with the drugs (may as well take water).  At night is totally unbearable (yes I use a pillow between the legs and ice).
  Please oh Please tell me there is a time limit on pain!!!  I am in Physical Therapy, limited during my hospital stay, nursing home, in house, and now outside of the home.  I have gone to the pt center 3 days so far and Please tell me there are better days coming SOON!!!!!
  I have been on Dilaudin, oxycodone, and vicadine.  
  I was to have my other knee done 4 weeks after the first.  
1 Responses
547368 tn?1440545385
Hi Sharon,

Welcome to MedHelp's Pain Management Forum. I am so sorry to hear bout your continued post-op knee pain. I am not an expert in knees or anything for that matter. However "bad knees" run in my family. All, yes all of my immediate family members beginning with my grandmother have knee problems. Many of us have had or will require TKP. I have also cared for many TKR patients. In my opinion what you are experiencing is not the norm.

At five weeks post-op you should have discomfort and increased pain after a PT session.... that's" normal"  A few pain meds should be controlling your pain. Some ppl don't even require a narcotic at five weeks or only one at night or prophylactically before or after PT. However everyone responds to pain differently and it's fair to say that some surgeries are more extensive or complicated and of course  complications occur.  So that said what does your surgeon have to say about your severe pain? Does he/she offer an explanation?

What is your Physical Therapist's opinion on your level of pain? Often they can offer good insight.