Aa
A
A
A
Close
Parenting Toddlers (1-5) Community
3.36k Members

Recurring HIGH fever in a 1 year old..

Hi. My son is 13 months old. Since he was about 5 months old, he has off and on developed fevers. He developed teeth early ( he has 13 teeth now) and had several colds from daycare. At the age of around 8 months old, he developed a 106 fever and was rushed to the ER. They sent us home that night with antibiotics and said it was a virus. Since then, yes since then.. he has had a fever on and off. A week has not gone by without developing a fever in between the range of 100-105. Many times, he has no other sympton AT ALL. Now, it has been 7 weeks with recurring HIGH ( 101-104) FEVER. Every time we take him to the doctor, they say it is justa virus and to let it pass. I cannot take this "virus thing" as the answer anymore. Is it just me? Am I crazy or is this abnormal? What does this sound like to you? I need a doctor to help him!
173 Responses
Well, where do I begin...I'm no doctor and I don't know what underlying medical issue there might be but I do understand your frustration with the "it's just a virus" answer.  It sounds ridiculous to me.  What does his pediatrician say?  If he feeds you with the same bullc***, I would find a different one.  Recurrent fevers do not sound normal and giving him antibiotics so often, as you know I'm sure, is not that great for his immune system.  I hope you find answers soon.  All the best.
121828 tn?1333468091
Do they check his tonsils or throat during these fever episodes? My sister's 2 year old just had her tonsils out because she was getting a fever of very high temps every 28 days due to her throat infections. Sounds weird, I've heard it called periodic fever? It's very frustrating. The doctors don't like to take the tonsils out that young but the high fevers arent good for them either. good luck